International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is a unique international standard number for the identification of a book, manual, and the likes, published by a certain publisher.
ISBNs are obtained from the International ISBN Agency based in London. The National Library of Malaysia has been appointed as the ISBN National Center in Malaysia since August 1982.
The ISBN that has been given must be printed on the back cover of the book.
This standard also applicable to eISBN; which is applied using the same procedures as ISBN, the international standard number given must be printed also on the back cover of the electronic book.
Each ISBN contains 13 digits and is preceded by the word ISBN in bold. This 13-digit ISBN is divided into five (5) parts and each part is separated by a hyphen.
Examples of ISBN:
ISBNs are obtained from the International ISBN Agency based in London. The National Library of Malaysia has been appointed as the ISBN National Center in Malaysia since August 1982.
The ISBN that has been given must be printed on the back cover of the book.
This standard also applicable to eISBN; which is applied using the same procedures as ISBN, the international standard number given must be printed also on the back cover of the electronic book.
Each ISBN contains 13 digits and is preceded by the word ISBN in bold. This 13-digit ISBN is divided into five (5) parts and each part is separated by a hyphen.
Examples of ISBN:
- ISBN 978-983-99557-1-2
- ISBN 978-967-5492-39-6
- ISBN 978-967-491-068-6
ISBNS ARE NOT REUSABLE
An assigned ISBN number CANNOT be reused. It is the publisher's responsibility to inform the ISBN National Center if the requested ISBN is not used or there is any change to the title.
1. Facilitating the tracking and procurement of Malaysian-produced publications at the local and international level.
2. Number control for titles that have been published.
3. To widely promote the publication and to maximise its sales potential.
4. Help promote Malaysian publishers in the "Global Register of Publishers" through the International ISBN Agency website.
5. Promoting the sale of Malaysian-produced materials locally and internationally
6. Accurate use of the ISBN allows different product forms and editions of a book.
7. Important details in the description of bibliographic records.
8. Strengthen the copyrights of the publisher's published material.
3. To widely promote the publication and to maximise its sales potential.
4. Help promote Malaysian publishers in the "Global Register of Publishers" through the International ISBN Agency website.
5. Promoting the sale of Malaysian-produced materials locally and internationally
6. Accurate use of the ISBN allows different product forms and editions of a book.
7. Important details in the description of bibliographic records.
8. Strengthen the copyrights of the publisher's published material.
International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) is a unique International Standard Serial Number for the identification of a periodical publication. The periodical publication refers to the repeatable publication of the same title with more than one publishing issues/volumes such as bulletins, magazines, journals and so on.
The ISSN is obtained from the International ISSN Agency based in Paris, France. The National Library of Malaysia was appointed as the ISSN National Center from June 1976.
The International Serials Data System (ISDS) is an international network of operations and regional centers that are jointly responsible for the establishment and maintenance of a computerized database containing basic information for tracking serials published worldwide. The International Center for Computerized Databases has its Regional Center for Southeast Asia in Bangkok, Thailand.
The National Center established in each country that participates in this program aims to monitor, encourage the use, and assign ISSN to each serial publication published in the country concerned.
The establishment of the ISSN National Center for Malaysia at the National Library of Malaysia was a Cabinet decision made in June 1976. The ISSN National Center is responsible for assigning ISSNs to serials published in Malaysia, providing ISSN records in the database, and sending them to the International ISDS Center and the ISDS-SEA Regional Center, quarterly.
The ISSN consists of two (2) groups of four (4) numbers separated by a dash and preceded by the acronym ISSN (capital letters).
Example: ISSN 1394-3650
The ISSN should be printed in an easily visible place, preferably on the top right corner of the front cover of every issue of the serial issued. The same procedures applied for electronic serial publications registration (e-ISSN).
The ISSN is obtained from the International ISSN Agency based in Paris, France. The National Library of Malaysia was appointed as the ISSN National Center from June 1976.
The International Serials Data System (ISDS) is an international network of operations and regional centers that are jointly responsible for the establishment and maintenance of a computerized database containing basic information for tracking serials published worldwide. The International Center for Computerized Databases has its Regional Center for Southeast Asia in Bangkok, Thailand.
The National Center established in each country that participates in this program aims to monitor, encourage the use, and assign ISSN to each serial publication published in the country concerned.
The establishment of the ISSN National Center for Malaysia at the National Library of Malaysia was a Cabinet decision made in June 1976. The ISSN National Center is responsible for assigning ISSNs to serials published in Malaysia, providing ISSN records in the database, and sending them to the International ISDS Center and the ISDS-SEA Regional Center, quarterly.
The ISSN consists of two (2) groups of four (4) numbers separated by a dash and preceded by the acronym ISSN (capital letters).
Example: ISSN 1394-3650
The ISSN should be printed in an easily visible place, preferably on the top right corner of the front cover of every issue of the serial issued. The same procedures applied for electronic serial publications registration (e-ISSN).
1. Facilitate the tracking and procurement of Malaysian-produced publications at the local and international level.
2. As an added value to the registration of periodical publications at the national and international level (eg: MyJurnal, Google Scholar, SCOPUS).
3. Promote the sale of publications at the local and international level.
4. Further strengthen the copyrights of the publisher's published material.
2. As an added value to the registration of periodical publications at the national and international level (eg: MyJurnal, Google Scholar, SCOPUS).
3. Promote the sale of publications at the local and international level.
4. Further strengthen the copyrights of the publisher's published material.
ISBN/ISSN applications can be made through National Library of Malaysia Official Website via link depository.pnm.gov.my.
As for now (September 2023), the depository system is under maintenance.
All applications could be submitted through:
ISBN Registration Form: CLICK HERE
ISSN Registration should be submitted through email to depositori@pnm.gov.my
As for now (September 2023), the depository system is under maintenance.
All applications could be submitted through:
ISBN Registration Form: CLICK HERE
ISSN Registration should be submitted through email to depositori@pnm.gov.my
For more information regarding the application please contact:
Pusat Bibliografi Negara Perpustakaan Negara Malaysia,
Aras 3, Anjung Bestari No. 232, Jalan Tun Razak,
50572 Kuala Lumpur.
(U/P: Pusat Kebangsaan ISBN/ISSN/PDP)
Tel : 03-26814329, 03-26871825, 03-26871700 ext 4288 / 4271/4284
E-mail : depositori@pnm.gov.my
A Digital Object Identifier or DOI is a string of numbers, letters, and symbols with a permanent web address (URL). The DOI is used to uniquely identify an article or document. It will help reader easily locate a document from the citation.
How to Look for Digital Object Identifier (DOI)?
• In most scholarly journal articles, the DOI will be printed with the article itself, usually on the first page somewhere below the title, in the header or footer
• If the DOI is not included in the article, look up on the website Crossref.org (use the "Search Metadata" option) to check for an assigned DOI
• If the DOI is not included in the article, look up on the website Crossref.org (use the "Search Metadata" option) to check for an assigned DOI
How to Find Article Using Digital Object Identifier (DOI)?
DOI will start with http:// or https://, simply paste it into web browser. This will usually lead to a journal publisher's page for the article.
Assign DOI in UiTM
DOI will always refer to the article, and only that one. While a web address (URL) might change, the DOI will never change.
First step to obtain the DOI is Journal Editor submitting to the UiTM Library, Institutional Repository article in PDF format.
Every article requires metadata that includes:
- Journal Title
- Abbreviated Journal Title
- ISSN/ eISSN
- Article Title
- Author
- Volume Number
- Issue Number
- Page Number
- Publication Dates
Depositing Article to Obtain DOI
- Deposit the article and associated metadata to the library, Institutional Repository via email
- Library will define two (2) URLs, one for the title and one for the document
- Journal Editor will obtain both URLs from the library and forwarded to Research Management Centre (RMC), UiTM in order to register the article
- RMC is responsible in depositing with Crossref and the DOI will only active once it is registered
In APA format (7th edition): Include the DOI for all works that have one. It goes at the end of your reference and no period at the end. Write the DOI as a hyperlink starting with https://doi.org/
Example: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. https://doi.org/10.0000/0000
In AMA format:Do not include an "Accessed" date or a URL. Put the DOI at the end of your citation, prefaced with DOI.
Example: Author AA, Author BB. Title of article. Name of Journal. Year; vol (issue): inclusive pages. doi:10.00000/0000000
In MLA format:Include the DOI at the end of the citation for an online journal article. If no DOI exists, use the URL.
Example: Author LastName, FirstName, and FirstName LastName. "Article Title." Journal Name, vol. #, no. #, date, pp. ##-##. Name of Database, doi: 10.0000/000000000.
For further inquiries on depositing articles to the Repository, please contact the library (PTAR):
Mohd Alfarabie Bin Mohd Nasir
Tel: 03-55443770
Email: alfarabie@uitm.edu.my
Tel: 03-55443770
Email: alfarabie@uitm.edu.my
Norhamimi Binti Othman
Tel: 03-55443763
Email: mimi537@uitm.edu.my
Tel: 03-55443763
Email: mimi537@uitm.edu.my
For further inquiries on depositing articles for DOI, please contact Research Management Centre (RMC):
Nur Hamizah Binti Mohd Radzi
Tel: 03-55443280
Email: hamizah0715@uitm.edu.my
Tel: 03-55443280
Email: hamizah0715@uitm.edu.my
Norshahidah Binti Atemin
Tel: 03-55443247
Email: norshahidah@uitm.edu.my
Tel: 03-55443247
Email: norshahidah@uitm.edu.my